Elderly parent

Most of us have to deal with this at some point in our lives. My mother died instantly more than fifteen years ago, what a way to go, no slow decline, just an instantaneous loss of consciousness and almost immediate death. She was driving and out and about visiting friends the day before and she would have known nothing about it.

My Dad is a different matter. He is in hospital having suffered from pneumonia, fast atrial fibrillation and heart failure. His GP was about to write it off as a virus when I asked him to listen to my Dad’s lungs again. I’m not a fan of his GP by the way. All charm and no fucking action. Oh, and yes, I am going to swear in this blog post. I don’t normally, but tonight I really fucking feel like it

Dad has been in hospital for three weeks now. The hospital is 320 miles from where I live. There is a social services care package in place and he’s supposedly due to go home tomorrow. Unfortunately though, he fell out of bed , head first, on Wednesday morning and split his head open. I saw him that afternoon and he had a 2 1/2″ gash in his forehead with a large haematoma. He had also lost what was left of his fragile confidence. Will he come out of hospital tomorrow? I will only find out when I ring the ward. If I were a betting man I wouldn’t put anything on it though.

The only problem is, the longer he stays in hospital, the more depressed he becomes.

It is a strange feeling when one of your parents tells you that sometimes they think it would be better if they went to sleep and never woke up and you can see their point.

I’m almost ashamed to talk about the impact on me. I’m not the one who has limited quality of life, but it has affected me. For one thing I have a doctor’s appointment on Tuesday. One of the things I will be saying is that I have been drinking far too much over the last fortnight. I know I shouldn’t, but sometimes that knowledge isn’t enough. I have to tell them, because they have to know. Again I’m rather ashamed of it, but at the same time I’m not fucking surprised it’s happened.

Ah well. Let’s hope it all turns out well in the end. After all, why not end this post on a fucking platitude?

By the way, I’m not going to edit this post, because it is straight from the heart. If there are any typos or grammatical errors, I don’t fucking care. If you know what I’m like as a writer, you will know how out of character that is.

I’m not looking for sympathy by the way, it’s just that bottling all this up feels so fucking self destructive that I had to write this and publish it or end up with another panic attack, going for a walk at 3am because I can’t breathe if I stay still.

If anyone reading this is going through similar, I hope it helps to know that you’re not alone.

4 thoughts on “Elderly parent

  1. hi James
    Thank you for sharing/venting – you are indeed ‘writing your way through’. Words out of your heart and onto the page/screen are the start of coming out the other side. Keep writing my friend, keep writing. And if a 3am walk does it, keep walking too. We all have to at some point witness the decline of our elderly parents – we all know it will come, but there’s no manual to help us through it. You have turned to one of the best medicines in my humble opinion: words.
    Take gentle care of your self amigo, and remember we are close by – we have kettle and tea bags, comfy sofa, cuddly cat, and there are even a couple of nice looking mules in the field to look at. Call anytime –
    big hugs xxxAM (and even though he is still in bed, from Peter too!)

    Like

  2. Margaret

    Hi James,
    I went through this a few years ago in my Mum’s final illness. I was traveling to Nottingham every weekend for 6months and it was incredibly stressful. My brother lived with my mother at the time and so bore the brunt of the stress, and I knew that he would be there in an emergency. What I found helped me (utterly selfishly) was that I would wait on a Sunday until the sun set (traveling west against the setting sun in Winter was too much) and I found a session in Nottingham on a Sunday late afternoon, which took my mind to a better place before I set off back home. This was necessary for me to cope and I have never been so thankful for it coinciding – a mindful activity.
    I understand what you are going through!
    Meg

    Like

Leave a comment